Living Off the Country By John Haines


Originally posted on Fox Chase Review:

LivingOffTheCountryCover Series: Poets on Poetry

Paperback: 200 pages

Publisher: University of Michigan Press (January 1, 1982)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 0472063332

ISBN-13: 978-0472063338

Reviewed by Stephen Page

While I was reading the introduction of Living Off the Country, I thought, Oh no!, this is just another treatise by an egotistical writer filled with ego-driven philosophy; but I soon changed my mind.  By page seven I knew I was reading a good book.  Haines’s perception of the evolution of language is keen: “one of the consequences of having a language and a culture is that these begin to exist for themselves in place of the original things we once lived by.” Our minds manipulate language, but mostly, language is manipulated by the powers-that-be to take on meanings other than the idea or thing.  “Go West young man,” or “conquer the last frontier,” are a couple of examples.  The statement is also an…

View original 464 more words

One response to “Living Off the Country By John Haines