Writing Wisdom: Harding, Horrocks, & Cross-Smith


Kathy Fish

Some things I’ve read recently by some of my favorite writers that have fired me up, taught me something, and/or inspired me and maybe you too!

This, from Paul Harding, author of Tinkers (one of my favorite novels) and Enon (which I haven’t read yet):

“Your books will suffer from bad readers no matter what, so write them for brilliant, big-brained and big-hearted people who will love you for feeding their minds with feasts of beauty.”

The rest of his 5 Writing Tips can be found here, at the Publisher’s Weekly site,

And this, from another favorite writer, Caitlin Horrocks (you should read her collection, This is Not Your City, if you haven’t yet…I reviewed it at the Lit Pub). Here is what Horrocks says about “the bad idea”:

“…as a writer, the things that are difficult are the things I want to do, and I want to…

View original post 210 more words

One response to “Writing Wisdom: Harding, Horrocks, & Cross-Smith