What journalists can learn from ‘Poetry Has Value’


Christine Sirois

Photo by Flickr user duckiemonster used under Creative Commons. Photo by Flickr user duckiemonster used under Creative Commons.

When people find out you’re a writer they will inevitably ask you how you “got into it”. It’s a funny funny question because we so rarely hear other professionals asked it. Ever hear someone ask, “How did you get into being an accountant?” or “How did you get into being an electrician?” at a party?

It’s like somehow writing is something you stumble across in the dark of night when you’re wandering and lost.

In reality, I got into journalism because I was bad at math and good at writing. I had a knack for words, I’m naturally inquisitive and I don’t suffer fools lightly so I found a career where those are assets.

Unfortunately, the conversation turns quickly from your abilities and skill to how horrible it must be to watch newspapers collapse all around you, see colleagues and friends…

View original post 812 more words

Comments are closed.