Book review: Europa Editions


Do Haeng

DSC07478In November, 2013, I was browsing the shelves of Brilliant Books in Traverse City, MI.  There was a stand-alone shelf promoting the books from a single publisher – Europa Editions.

According to the company website, Europa Editions was founded in 2005 and has published books by authors from twenty-six different countries, making it a leading publisher of international fiction.  I believe their most popular title is The Elegance of the Hedgehog by French novelist Muriel Barbery, having spent over a year on the New York Times bestseller list.

As I perused the shelf, one title caught my eye.  A Novel Bookstore by French writer, Laurence Cossé.  Usually, when I purchase a book, it is not the next book I read.  However, while in Traverse City, I set aside the short story collection I was into after sampling the first chapter.  Then the second.  Then it became the oddity, violating my…

View original post 704 more words

Comments are closed.