The &NOW AWARDS 3


Raging Biblio-holism

&nowThe Short Version: A collection of “the hardest-hitting, most provocative, deadly serious, patently absurd, cutting-edge, avant-everything-and-nothing work” from 2011-2013 – writing that is as much about the words and the writing itself as it is about what the words are saying.  Real heady stuff, you know?

The Review: I have a tumultuous relationship with so-called “innovative” writing. At the end of the day, I’m not sure I buy into the idea that words-as-art still qualify as a reading experience. An artistic experience, sure – but not necessarily a reading experience. I threw There is No Year across the room more than once – but I love Jeff VanderMeer’s work. I’ll pick up Mark Z. Danielewski any day but Angela Genusa’s piece in this collection/anthology (for example) left me oh-so-cold. So I went in wary…

The perhaps most-telling thing for me, with this collection, was the fact that it features an excerpt…

View original post 629 more words

Comments are closed.